Cleaning out my Pinterest Closet

Oh Pinterest how I love you. Let me count the ways….

But seriously sometimes I wonder how I ever survived this mom life without it! My biggest category on Pinterest (you guessed it) my closet wishlist. I love hunting for cute outfits and finding daily style inspiration. Before I cleaned out my closet I had over 1,000 pins in just this category alone. I decided to clean some categories out because unfortunately the Pinterest App takes up a ton of storage on my phone. So I went to work deleting pins I wasn’t drawn to or couldn’t find inspiration from anymore. As I was doing this I discovered a theme. There are certain trends I’m just not feeling anymore.

5 Trends I am deleting from my Pinterest Closet:

  1. Blue stripes and yellow.
    5-cute-casual-spring-outfits-to-try-now2
    Photo Credit

    I used to love this combo but I feel like it became really overdone and now it feels really predictable. I’m still a huge fan of stripes. They always feel so classic to me however now I prefer to pair them with a bit of floral or plaid. Or if I have black and white stripes I love pairing them with tan or camel (see below).

    WHBM
    Photo Credit
  2. The first picture leads me to my next nixed trend: Bubble Necklaces. Again I used to love them and then they became really overdone. Plus I’m noticing my style is really evolving into something a little more simplistic and relaxed with natural tones. These necklaces just feel really loud to me now. Instead, If I’m going to incorporate a necklace, I will do something like what is pictured below. A necklace that is longer and adds just a little something extra to the outfit rather than distracting you from it.

    Screen-Shot-2015-09-14-at-10.22.53-PM
    Photo Credit
  3. Fedoras.  _9984396                                         I know, I was surprised by this myself. Especially because this was my summer staple last year. I still do love a good hat but right now I am totally craving a great fitting baseball cap and bonus points if it’s chambray like this one!

    Baseball Tee 3
    Photo Credit
  4. Bright Colored Skinnies
    LISOS
    Photo Credit

    Personally I have never been a fan of these. Maybe because I have wider hips and could never really find a pair that was very flattering. I know bright colors seem to be the trend for spring and summer but for me if I am going to add some color I like to do it in the form of a fun pattern or a pretty floral motif.

    DSC_0255
    Photo Credit
  5.  Lastly, Pencil Skirts.
    howtowearasweatshirt18
    Photo Credit

    There is a good chance I will be totally alone in this. I realize it is a very classy silhouette. But sometimes I think it can make an outfit look very boring. That is why I chose the outfit above. This outfit would totally be the exception! I love this patterned pencil skirt and I love that she pared it with a cute sweatshirt! If you are gonna do a pencil skirt this is the way to go!

So there you have it. Feel free to give me your thoughts. Or better yet, what trends are you deleting for 2016?

For more of what I’m pinning follow me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

